Trust Independent group wins eight of 15 seats on Uckfield Town Council

Jacob White reports from the count

The  Uckfield Trust  Independent group is celebrating after successfully claiming eight out of the 15 available seats on Uckfield Town Council.

Two sitting Liberal Democrat members lost their seats, Alan Whittaker in the Uckfield North ward and Caroline Pagett who stood for election in Uckfield New Town after previously being a member for Uckfield Ridgewood.

In Uckfield North, the Trust Independent group secured five of the six available seats with James Anderson, Louise Eastwood, Donna French, Jacqueline Love and Chris Macve all being elected alongside Paul Sparks (Liberal Democrat) who retained his seat.

Diane Ward was elected for the Trust Independent group in Uckfield Central ward with Helen Firth of the Conservatives and Paul Meakin of the Liberal Democrats, both of whom were sitting members.


Helen Firth

Cllr Firth said: “There’s a lot of work to do and I will be working hard to get important work done. Thank you to everyone who has helped get me elected and those who have voted for me.”

The first Trust Independent group member to be elected in Uckfield was Diane Ward who is delighted to be able to shape the future of the town.

She said: “I am really pleased and would like to thank everyone who voted for me. I am always here to listen to the concerns of residents and will always speak-up on their behalf.”

In the Uckfield New Town ward Spike Mayhew was elected for the Liberal Democrats and the Trust Independent group had two members elected Mick Dean and Duncan Bennett, a former deputy mayor.


Diane Ward and Mick Dean

Cllr Dean, said: “It’s something new, I was asked to get involved and I thought about it and decided to give it a go and I am happy to do so. It’s a new chapter in my life and I am just really chuffed.”

In the Uckfield Ridgewood ward Uckfield Town Mayor and independent Ian Smith was returned in addition to another independent candidate, Keith Everett, and Jacqueline Beckford of the Liberal Democrats.


Ian Smith

Cllr Smith, said: “I am really pleased, thank you to all the Ridgewood residents for putting their faith in me. I will continue to serve them all diligently.”

Full results from the town council election along with Uckfield area Wealden District Council here


Trust Independents (from left) Duncan Bennett, Mick Dean, Donna French, Louise Eastwood, Diane Ward, James Anderson and Jackie Love. Chris Macve, the other Trust Independent, was not present as he was ringing church bell to mark VE Day and had a wedding to attend.

See also

Uckfield King’s Church Centre on the move

Comment: Uckfield comes up trumps again – Observer

How to advertise on

Share this story

Sign up to receive daily news alerts

I'd like to receive updates every: