It’s polling day – election candidates in Uckfield area

Polling stations open at 7am today (Thursday) for voting in the General Election and for Wealden and town and parish council elections.

Voting continues until 10pm.

The result of the Wealden Constituency for the General Election is expected early on Friday morning.

Counting for the district, town and parish elections will not take place until Saturday.


*denotes sitting member for that ward
** sitting member for another ward

Central Ward (three seats)
Alexander Butcher, Browns Lane, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Helen Firth*, Harcourt Road, Uckfield (Conservative)
Paul Meakin*, Olives Meadow, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Diane Ward, Regency Close, Uckfield (Trust Independent).

New Town Ward (three seats)
Duncan Bennett, Framfield Road, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Mick Dean, Keld Avenue, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Josh Gibbens, Anvil Close, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Spike Mayhew, Forge Rise, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Caroline Pagett**, Farriers Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat).

North Ward (six seats)
James Anderson, Birch Close, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Louise Eastwood*, Jeffreys Way, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Donna French, Olives Meadow (Trust Independent)
Cara Jeffery, Forge Rise, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Jacqueline Love, Downland Copse, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Christopher Macve, London Road, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Paul Sparks*, Roman Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Alan Whittaker*, Ironstone Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat).

Ridgewood Ward (three seats)
Jacqueline Beckford, Baxendale Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Jeremy Beesley, Sycamore Court, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Shirley Davies, Brickyard Cottages, Mark Cross (Trust Independent)
Keith Everett, Swallow Court, Uckfield, (Independent)
Charles Mears-Lamb, Brickyard Cottages, Mark Cross, (Independent)
Ian Smith*, Castle Rise, Uckfield, (Independent).


Elections for seats on Wealden District Council are held on the same day. Nominations for seats in Uckfield:

Uckfield Central (one seat)
Claire Dowling*, Hunters Way, Uckfield, (Conservative)
Paul Meakin, Olives Meadow, Uckfield, (Liberal Democrat),
Charles Mear-Lamb, Brickyard Cottages, Mark Cross (no description given).

Uckfield New Town (one seat)
Helen Firth*, Harcourt Road, Uckfield (Conservative),
Chris Magness, Eastbourne Road, Halland (UK Independence Party)
Dorothy Sparks, Roman Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Matt Stribley, New Town, Uckfield (Green).

Uckfield North (two seats)
Christopher Horlock, Queens Approach, Uckfield (Labour)
Samuel Imber, Brunel Drive, Hailsham, (Independent)
Brian Moon, Forge Close, Uckfield (UK Independence Party)
Carol Reynolds, Parklands, Maresfield (Conservative)
Paul Sparks, Roman Way, Uckfield, (Liberal Democrat)
Peter Waldock, Manor End (Conservative)
Alan Whittaker, Ironside Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat).

Uckfield Ridgewood (one seat)
Jacqueline Beckford, Baxendale Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Anthony Fielding, Horsted Lane, Isfield (Labour)
Josh Gibbens, Anvil Close, Uckfield (Independent)
Barry Marlowe**, Gordon Road, Buxted (Conservative)
Graham Shevill, Barley Mow Park, Eastbourne Road, Uckfield (UK Independence Party).

Nominations for district council seats in surrounding villages

Buxted and Maresfield Ward ( 2 seats)
Toby Illingworth, Court Lane, Five Ash Down (Conservative)
Michael Lunn, Five Chimneys Lane, Hadlow Down (Conservative)
Ken Ogden, London Road, Maresfield (Independent)

Chiddingly and East Hoathly (1 seat)
Barby Dashwood-Morris, Church Lane, Hellingly (Conservative)
George Norton, Deanland Wood Park, Golden Cross (UK Independence Party)
Tom Serpell, Hollow Lane, East Hoathly (Labour)

Danehill, Fletching and Nutley (2 seats)
Marie De Lacy, Cherry Cottages, Fletching (Labour)
Roy Galley, Fairplace Farm, Nutley (Conservative)
Martha Mayes, High Street, Nutley, (Liberal Democrat)
Tony Robards, Station Road, Isfield, (UK Independence Party)
Peter Roundell, Sharpsbridge Lane, Piltdown (Conservative)

Framfield (1 seat)
Ann Newton, Framfield Road, Blackboys (Conservative)
Elisabeth Rumbold, Little London, Heathfield, (Labour)

Uckfield is part of the Wealden Constituency. Candidates are:
Solomon Curtis (Labour)
Nus Ghani (Conservative)
Giles Goodall (Liberal Democrat)
Peter Griffiths (UK Independence Party)
Mark Smith (Green)

See also:

Uckfield blogger nominated for awards

Play and plenty more at Barney’s Playbarn

Problem with your Apple? This Uckfield business can help

Share this story

Sign up to receive daily news alerts

I'd like to receive updates every: