Parliamentary boundary shake-up dropped

Proposals which would have seen Uckfield and Lewes become part of the same Parliamentary constituency are in the process of being dropped.

Wealden MP Nus Ghani

The reorganisation was part of a wider scheme to re-draw electoral boundaries.

The plans, in various forms, have been on the table for many years.

In the last guise, published  by the Boundary Commission in 2018, Uckfield and Lewes would have been joined in a new constituency to be called Lewes and West Wealden.

Villages within the new constituency would have included Newick, Plumpton, Alfriston, East Hoathly, Fletching, Hellingly, Horam and the towns of Hailsham and Polegate.

The new Tunbridge Wells and Crowborough constituency would have included Buxted, Maresfield and Framfield.

The proposals would have needed Parliamentary approval to be implemented.

However, the government is bringing forward new legislation.

A new Parliamentary Constituencies Bill 2019-21 is now making its way through the House of Commons.

It is designed to equalise the number of voters in each constituency, which will inevitably lead to boundary changes.

However, the total number of seats in the House of Commons will remain at 650 – the 2018 proposals would have seen a reduction in the number of MPs.

See also:

Uckfield fire cuts opposed by town councillors

Video conferencing a hit with the elderly during lockdown

Rail users invited to comment on Croydon plans

COVID-19 cases in Wealden – latest data

Find local businesses in our Uckfield Directory

How to advertise on

Share this story

Sign up to receive daily news alerts

I'd like to receive updates every: