New Uckfield Town Clerk, Holly Goring with town mayor, Cllr Louise Eastwood, and deputy town mayor, Cllr Duncan Bennett

New Uckfield Town Clerk is Holly Goring

Holly Goring was last night (March 7) formally appointed Uckfield Town Clerk.

Miss Goring, 33, from Bexhill, is expected to take up her post in mid April.

She joins the town council from the British Heart Foundation in London having previously worked for Tunbridge Wells Borough Council and Rother District Council, in East Sussex.

The appointment is the second major announcement in a week relating to people in Uckfield public life.

Last week Fr John Wall was announced as the new Rector of Uckfield.

Unanimous choice of interview panel

Miss Goring was the unanimous choice of the interview panel whose recommendation was accepted  at last night’s full council meeting.

Uckfield Town Mayor, Cllr Louise Eastwood, Trust Independent, Uckfield North, said hopefully it would be a new start for the council with the new clerk helping to move things along.

Cllr Eastwood thanked the interim town clerk, Christine Wheatley, who temporarily stepped up from assistant town clerk after the previous clerk, Ashley Serpis left.

Applause from councillors

“You have done a fantastic job looking after us. We can be a bit challenging sometimes,” the mayor said.

Her remarks were greeted with applause by fellow councillors.

Miss Goring has been working for the British Heart Foundation for the last eight months.

Prior to that she worked for Tunbridge Wells Borough Council for more than eights years. Her last post was policy and governance manager.

Before that she had worked for Bexhill-based Rother DC.

The council’s interview process

Interviews took place on February 29.

There were nine applications in total and four people were interviewed – three women and one man.

The interviewees gave a presentation under the title Uckfield Now and in the Future.

Councillors present at the meeting were:
Mayor Cllr Louise Eastwood, Trust Independent, North Ward
Deputy Mayor Cllr Duncan Bennett, Trust Independent, New Town
Cllr James Anderson, Trust Independent, North
Cllr Keith Everett, Independent, Ridgewood
Cllr Donna French, Trust Independent, North
Cllr Jackie Love, Trust Independent, North
Cllr Chris Macve, Trust Independent, North
Cllr Barry Mayhew, Liberal Democrat, New Town
Cllr Paul Meakin, Liberal Democrat, Central
Cllr Ian Smith, Independent, Ridgewood
Cllr Paul Sparks, Liberal Democrat, North
Cllr Diane Ward, Trust Independent, Central


Cllr Jacqueline Beckford, Liberal Democrat, Ridgewood
Cllr Mick Dean, Trust Independent, New Town
Cllr Helen Firth, Conservative, Central

See also:

Buxted Park Hotel seeks to expand

New Prius and 16-reg plate cars at SLM Toyota

Advertise with and we will help you create a buzz about your business



Share this story

Sign up to receive daily news alerts

I'd like to receive updates every: