New Uckfield group is guaranteed seats on town council

New Uckfield group, Trust Independent, will be represented on the town council after next month’s election.

The group, which was announced on Thursday, has put up candidates to fight every ward at the election on Thursday, May 7.ballot box

In some wards it is inevitable at least one of the group will be elected because of the number of other candidates is not sufficient to take all the seats up for election.

The election will also see a number of prominent town councillors stand down, including Mick Harker, who has chaired the town centre regeneration group and taken much criticism over the planned roadworks in the High Street.

Other town councillors standing down are: former town mayor, John Carvey; John Collins, Jim Molesworth Edwards, Sarah Hall, deputy mayor, Jeremy Hallett; Sam Lear and Thelma Rumbelow.

Trust Uckfield (Team Representing Uckfield Supporting Transparency) says its candidates declare themselves independent of any party political whip and vow never to be forced to toe any party line. “Their only priority is the town where they live and the people with whom they share it.

“They fear that plans and decisions with effects that have a massive impact upon our community may be being kept from adequate public view and vow to ensure that the electorate of Uckfield are fully informed and better involved in such matters.

“As long term residents (they have a collective experience of Uckfield life totalling around 300 years) the Trust team know their town extremely well and their knowledge is supplemented by the views of their families, friends, neighbours and colleagues, whom they are in local contact with upon a daily basis at home, at work and in community organisations.

“They have a wide range of issues which they hold as being of vital importance to their wards and the town as a whole.”


*denotes sitting member for that ward
** sitting member for another ward

Central Ward (three seats)
Alexander Butcher, Browns Lane, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Helen Firth*, Harcourt Road, Uckfield (Conservative)
Paul Meakin*, Olives Meadow, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Diane Ward, Regency Close, Uckfield (Trust Independent).

New Town Ward (three seats)
Duncan Bennett, Framfield Road, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Mick Dean, Keld Avenue, Uckfield (Trust Indepdent)
Josh Gibbens, Anvil Close, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Spike Mayhew, Forge Rise, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Caroline Pagett**, Farriers Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat).

North Ward (six seats)
James Anderson, Birch Close, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Louise Eastwood*, Jeffreys Way, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Donna French, Olives Meadow (Trust Independent)
Cara Jeffery, Forge Rise, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Jacqueline Love, Downland Copse, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Christopher Macve, London Road, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Paul Sparks*, Roman Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Alan Whittaker*, Ironstone Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat).

Ridgewood Ward (three seats)
Jacqueline Beckford, Baxendale Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Jeremy Beesley, Sycamore Court, Uckfield (Trust Independent)
Shirley Davies, Brickyard Cottages, Mark Cross (Trust Independent)
Keith Everett, Swallow Court, Uckfield, (Independent)
Charles Mears-Lamb, Brickyard Cottages, Mark Cross, (Independent)
Ian Smith*, Castle Rise, Uckfield, (Independent).

Elections for seats on Wealden District Council are held on the same day. Nominations for seats in Uckfield:

Uckfield Central (one seat)
Claire Dowling*, Hunters Way, Uckfield, (Conservative)
Paul Meakin, Olives Meadow, Uckfield, (Liberal Democrat),
Charles Mear-Lamb, Brickyard Cottages, Mark Cross (no description given).

Uckfield New Town (one seat)
Helen Firth*, Harcourt Road, Uckfield (Conservative),
Chris Magness, Eastbourne Road, Halland (UKIP)
Dorothy Sparks, Roman Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Matt Stribley, New Town, Uckfield (Green).

Uckfield North (two seats)
Christopher Horlock, Queens Approach, Uckfield (Labour)
Samuel Imber, Brunel Drive, Hailsham, (Independent)
Brian Moon, Forge Close, Uckfield (UKIP)
Carol Reynolds, Parklands, Maresfield (Conservative)
Paul Sparks, Roman Way, Uckfield, (Liberal Democrat)
Peter Waldock, Manor End (Conservative)
Alan Whittaker, Ironside Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat).

Uckfield Ridgewood (one seat)
Jacqueline Beckford, Baxendale Way, Uckfield (Liberal Democrat)
Anthony Fielding, Horsted Lane, Isfield (Labour)
Josh Gibbens, Anvil Close, Uckfield (Independent)
Barry Marlowe**, Gordon Road, Buxted (Conservative)
Graham Shevill, Barley Mow Park, Eastbourne Road, Uckfield (UKIP).

Uckfield is part of the Wealden Constituency. Candidates are:
Solomon Curtis (Labour)
Nus Ghani (Conservative)
Giles Goodall (Liberal Democrat)
Peter Griffiths (UKIP)
Mark Smith (Green)


Members of new Uckfield political group Trust Independent are, standing from left, Jackie Love, Jeremy Beesley, Diane Ward, Josh Gibbens, Alex Butcher, Chris Macve and Donna French. Seated front are: Mick Dean, James Anderson and Duncan Bennett.

See also:

Grants boost for Uckfield Anderida Cricket Club

TR Fastenings welcomes Chinese visitors to Uckfield

Dog walkers warned about poisoned sausages

Find local businesses in our Uckfield Directory

How to advertise on

Share this story

Sign up to receive daily news alerts

I'd like to receive updates every: